On ist August 2022, West Bengal (WB) government under Chief Minister(CM) Mamata Banerjee decided to carve out seven new districts from the existing 23 districts by redrawing their boundaries for better administration and development.

Key findings of the report

  • The seven new districts include Sunderban, Ichhemati, Ranaghat, Bishnupur, Jangipur, Behrampur and one more district will be named Basirhat.

  • At present, there are 23 districts in WB and after this addition, the total number of districts has been increased to 30.

  • Among the seven districts, Ranaghat is separated from Nadia, Jangipur & Behrampur are separated from Murshidabad district and Bishnupuris divided from Bankura.

  • Sundarban comes under South 24 Parganas, Icchemati and Basirhat comes under North 24 Parganas.

  • CM announced a cabinet reshuffle with the inclusion of five new council of minister under departments including Panchayat, Public Health, Engineering, Consumer Affairs & Self Help Group.

Related Articles

UPSC Mains Result 2022 declared on upsc.gov.in, check result here

UPSC Mains Result: The Union Public Service Commission has declared the result for UPSC Mains 2022. Candidates who took the exam can check their result on the official website at upsc.gov.in. UPSC Mains exam was conducted between September 16 and September 25,...